Welcome back NFL!!!

To start this brief conversation off I’m happy to say Welcome Back NFL!!!  It has been a long 7 months and simply put, I love NFL Sunday.  Why am I posting a blog during game time?  First of all I am busy bouncing back and forth from CBS and FOX in anticipation to the monster Sunday night matchup between the Steelers and the Bronco’s.  Sorry, I might not have clarified, I’m a Steeler’s fan. Love me or hate me, it doesn’t matter.  They were the first team I remember seeing on TV back when my mind was developing as a young sports fan in the making.  Back in the late 70’s and very early 80’s, when I was between the ages of 4 and 7, the Steeler’s were a great team and I was able to jump in as a fan, to my father’s dismay whom I believe to be a Redskins fan at heart but never really discussed it much since the rest of my father’s side of the family were Redskins fans.  It’s understandable since that side of my family comes from upper central Virginia about a 100 miles out of DC.  I can forgive them for being loyal to the local team.  Enough of that, back to today.  I’m watching the majority of todays televised games in casual mode.  My wife has left me alone with both of our kids and I’m trying to balance between taking care of my 3 month old son and my 4 year old daughter and I have been lucky so far today.  My son wanted a bottle and, poof, just like magic, nap time has arrived.  My daughter has found a Barbie movie on TV that she is watching and, surprisingly enough, is being quite and playing with dolls as she watches the movie.  I just saw Tom Brady march his Patriots down the field for what appeared an extremely easy touchdown and RG III is having a decent game for his rookie opener.  I love it.  I’m nervous thinking about tonight.  Will Peyton Manning come out and be like his former self and pick apart my Steeler defense or will my Steel Curtain show up tonight and make Peyton rethink his injury and consider retirement.  On top of all of this, the pre-season Steeler team I got to watch appeared to be mediocre at best.  Yes, I’m worried.  Hopefully Big Ben didn’t pile on too many pounds this off season.  I would normally say bottoms up right now but my days of pounding beers are far behind me.  I may be lucky enough to sip a cold one during the four o’clock games today if my wife makes it home at a decent hour. Nonetheless, I’m just happy that the NFL season is back in full swing.

Go Steeler’s!!!

J

One thought on “Welcome back NFL!!!

Leave a Reply

